Driving under the influence of alcohol in Florida can be a very expensive risk. From the impact on one’s finances and freedom to the potential devastation of drunk driving accidents, it is just not worth it to get behind the wheel when intoxicated.
The 2015 Florida Statutes establish .08 as the blood alcohol concentration level at which vehicle operators may be cited for driving under the influence of alcohol. A drunk driver can end up facing fines of more than $2,000 and felony records for four or more convictions. If, within 10 years, a person receives a DUI conviction for the third time, that person may face the following:
- A prison term for up to a year
- Fines between $2,000 and $5,000
- Felony charges
- Order to use an ignition interlock device on their cars for two years.
Significant penalties may also result for fewer convictions and could include the following:
- Jail time up to 6 months and fines between $500 and $1,000 for first-time offenders
- Having ignition interlock devices installed in all vehicles for at least a year after conviction, if a two-time offender
- Prison sentences up to 9 months
- Fines between $1,000 and $2,000 for two-time offenders
Ignition interlock devices could be ordered installed in vehicles of first-time offenders for at least six months at the court’s discretion. The financial burden of installing and renting interlocks is borne by the convicted parties. Mothers Against Drunk Driving says the average monthly expense of the devices is between $60 and $80 after an initial installation cost of around $70 to $150.