How Much Jail Time do You Get for a DUI in Florida?
Drunk driving, or a DUI, can have many variables which can affect the charges, fines, probation period, requirement or length of license suspension, and even jail time.
The duration of the jail time sentence for drunk driving, or a DUI, can vary heavily depending which offense it is (i.e. first, second, third offense, and so on). It can also depend on your alcohol level or BAC.
For a first offense in Florida, you can receive up to 6 months in jail for a DUI.
For a second DUI offense in Florida, you can receive up to 9 months in jail.
In addition to this, you may also face heavy fines, loss of a driver’s license for a period of time, possible probation, and a requirement to complete drunk driving classes, alcohol counseling, and even community service.
Drinking While Driving Can Cause Serious Consequences
Drunk driving will lead to charges based upon your past criminal history, level of intoxication at the moment of arrest, and the county’s particular DUI laws.
If it’s a first time offense, and your BAC is below 0.15, you may be able to avoid jail time. Instead, you may get a suspended sentence that consists 1 to 5 years of probation.
In some states, a 3rd time offense would attract mandatory prison sentences. In a state like Michigan or Arizona, for instance, the defendant may receive up to 6 years in prison.
If the offense is considered as a hit-and-run accident, the defendant could face several additional penalties. If property damage is recorded, this can attract a 6 month sentence and a fine that ranges between $1,000 and $10,000. If injury or death is recorded, this can attract mandatory prison terms that can last between a year and up to 10 years.
How do you Avoid or Reduce your Jail Time for a DUI in Florida?
Hire an experienced DUI attorney to fight your case.
Are You Facing DUI Charges In New Port Richey? Tell Us About It.
[contact-form-7 id=”899″ title=”Contact form”]