Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance Attorney – New Port Richey, FL
From the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation, they said that..
“Florida is one of ten states that have personal injury protection (no fault) auto insurance. The intention was to provide injured drivers up to $10,000 in immediate medical coverage in lieu of establishing fault through the court system. The goal was to reduce payment delay for injured drivers, as well as limit the utilization of the court system. In Florida, PIP coverage is required to be purchased by all owners of motor vehicles registered in this state. PIP coverage makes the individual responsible for their own injuries in an accident regardless of fault.”
In New Port Richey and the Pasco County area, accidents happen a lot, people get injured and we can help you know the value of your case.
Responsibility For Medical Bills After A Car Accident
As of 2011, a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection has become a mandatory addition to your car insurance coverage in the state of Florida. By design, the purpose of PIP is to help reduce the need for people to sue one another to cover injuries resulting from automobile accidents. It covers you and the other people in your household.
Responsibility For Medical Bills After A Car Accident2>
What Does PIP Cover?
- A percentage of medically necessary expenses
- A percentage of lost wages
- Replacement services such as child care
- Up to $5,000 for death benefits
- Although the minimum amount of coverage is $10,000, additional personal injury protection may be purchased
How A Personal Injury Lawyer Can Help
Many people who submit claims to their PIP carrier are being met with extremely unfair tactics. PIP is not payable for any medical benefits if the accident victim does not get treatment “within 14 days after the motor vehicle accident.” Additionally, unless your treatment was deemed to be for an emergency medical condition, there can be limitations as to what your PIP carrier will pay. All treatments must be performed by an M.D., D.O. or D.C., and any follow-up services must be consistent with the underlying diagnosis from your initial visit. After jumping through their various hoops, you still may be denied coverage pending an independent investigation by the carrier.
Frank P. Bianco, P.A., will stand shoulder to shoulder with you to fight for every dollar you are owed. These new PIP laws are difficult to navigate, and you should not have to go through it alone.
You Must See A Doctor If You Are Involved In An Accident
This is a requirement. Seeing a homeopathic specialist is not sufficient. An official report will need to be drawn up by your physician. If your primary caregiver doesn’t have the right specialty, you may actually need additional opinions by other doctors to complete your claim. A personal injury attorney can help you with all the formalities.